Our team

NCMH brings together leading researchers and professional staff from Cardiff, Bangor and Swansea Universities.


Prof Ian Jones, Director
Dr James Walters, Deputy Director

Phenotyping (field) team

Dr Catrin Lewis, Research Associate and Field team Manager
Dr Lawrence Raisanen, Data Manager

Natalie Richards, Senior Psychology Assistant
Sophie Andrews, (Swansea), Psychology Assistant
Kali Barawi, Research Psychologist (Imaging)
Lowri O’Donovan, Psychology Assistant
Jessica Hall, Psychology Assistant
Emma Williams, (Wrexham), Psychology Assistant
Ella Lonnen, Psychology Assistant
Elen Thomas, Psychology Assistant

Bipolar recruitment

Christine Fraser, Research Assistant
Katie Swaden Lewis, Psychology Assistant
Holly Pearce, Psychology Assistant

Lab team

Dr Kiran Mantripragada, Lab Manager

Dr Alexandra Evans, Lab Technician
Craig Joyce, IPS Lab Technician
Ganna Leonenko, Research Analyst
Bozo Lugonja, Biomaterials Co-ordinator

Sail team (Swansea)

Marcos del Pozo Banos, Senior Analyst
Lewis Lee, Analyst


Paul Gauci, Senior Communications Officer
Catrin Hopkins, Communications Officer
Rachel Smith, Communications Officer
Rebecca Lynch, Bipolar Administrator
Janet Robinson, NCMH Research Network Co-ordinator
Mark Coles, Clerical Assistant
Jessica Pickin, Clerical Assistant (currently on maternity leave)

Take part now to make a difference
National Centre for Mental Health, Cardiff University, Hadyn Ellis Building, Maindy Road, Cardiff, CF24 4HQ
+44 (0)29 2068 8401
The National Centre for Mental Health (NCMH) is funded by Welsh Government through Health and Care Research Wales | Privacy Policy