Skip to main content

President’s Medal for Professor Thapar

Professor Anita Thapar has been awarded the President’s Medal by the Royal College of Psychiatrists at a ceremony in London.

The award, in its fifth year, honours those who have contributed to policy, public knowledge, education and meeting population and patient care needs in diverse and challenging circumstances.

“I feel very honoured to have received this award” said Professor Thapar, a Principal Investigator at NCMH. “It is testament to the hard work of my team, and we will continue to undertake high quality research to advance public knowledge and inform policy around child and adolescent mental health”

Commenting on the award, NCMH Director Professor Ian Jones said: “This is a well deserved accolade which demonstrates Professor Thapar’s excellent work in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry”

Professor Thapar’s research focuses on the genetic and environmental causes of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and youth depression. She was awarded the Ruane Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Research in 2014 and earlier this year made a key contribution to the latest edition of Rutter’s Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, the leading textbook in its field.

Previous winners of the President’s Medal include Professor Eileen Munroe, Norman Lamb and Clare Balding OBE.

Subscribe to our blog

Sign up now and receive new blog posts to your inbox.


National Centre for Mental Health, Cardiff University, Hadyn Ellis Building, Maindy Road, Cardiff, CF24 4HQ

+44 (0)29 2068 8401
The National Centre for Mental Health (NCMH) is funded by Welsh Government through Health and Care Research Wales | Privacy Policy